Skip to main content
UN Library logo
Research Guides

UN System Documentation

UN Specialized Agencies

2016 session of the CEB; UN Photo 703766

Specialized Agencies are mentioned in the Charter in 

  • Chapter IX, International Economic and Social Co-operation
  • Chapter X, The Economic and Social Council

There are 17 Specialized Agencies:

UN specialized agencies are international organizations working with the UN, in accordance with relationship agreements between each organization and the UN. 

Specialized Agencies each have a process for admitting members and appointing their administrative head.

Article 58 of the Charter states that the UN will make "recommendations for the co-ordination of the policies and activities of the specialized agencies".  Coordination is facilitated through ECOSOC and the Chief Executives Board (CEB).