Skip to Main Content
UN Library logo
Research Guides

UN System Documentation

Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO)

FAO Director-General QU Dongyu. Afternoon Parallel Sessions: From the G20 Matera Declaration to the Food Systems Summit: A Framework for Emerging Coalitions of Action, Pre-Summit of the United Nations Food System Summit 2021. FAO headquarters (Plenary hall). ©FAO/Giuseppe Carotenuto.

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

FAO Directors-General

  • 2019- : Qu Dongyu (China)
  • 2012-2019 : José Graziano da Silva (Brazil) 
  • 1994-2011: Jacques Diouf (Senegal) (Press release FAO/3587 [1994], SAG/65 [1999])
  • 1976-1993: Edouard Saouma (Lebanon) (Press release FAO/3422 [1987])
  • 1968-1975: Addeke Hendrik Boerma (Netherlands)
  • 1956-1967: Binay Ranjan Sen (India)
  • 1956: Sir Herbert Broadley (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) [Acting Director-General]
  • 1954-1956: Philip V. Cardon (United States of America)
  • 1948-1953: Norris E. Dodd (United States of America)
  • 1945-1948: Sir John Boyd Orr (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)