Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UN Library logo
Research Guides

Dag Hammarskjöld Library Conferences


Towards Global Open Science: Core Enabler of the UN 2030 Agenda

United Nations Headquarters, New York, 19 November 2019

Provisional Programme

Venue: Conference Room 12 (Webcast here)

8:30 – 9:00 am            Registration: speakers, panelists, participants arrive

9:00 – 9:20 am            Opening and welcome remarks

9:20 – 10:00 am          Opening keynotes

  • Dr. Juan Pablo Alperin, Assistant Professor, Publishing Program; Associate Director of Research, Public Knowledge Project, Simon Fraser University: Policies and Incentives for Open Scholarly Communication
  • Ms. Natalia Manola, Managing Director, OpenAIRE: Open Science Infrastructure in the European Union

10:00 – 10:20 am        Discussion

10:20 – 10:45 am        Morning break

10:45 – 11:45 am        Panel One: Policy Makers

  • Mr. Jean-Claude Burgelman, Open Access Envoy, European Commission
  • Dr. Takashi Hikihara, Professor, Kyoto University; Chairperson, Expert Panel on Promoting Open Science, Cabinet Office, Government of Japan
  • Dr. Lisa Nichols, Assistant Director for Academic Engagement, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President, United States of America
  • Dr. Masha Cemma, Policy Advisor at the Office of Canada's Chief Science Advisor, Government of Canada

Moderator: Ms. Heather Joseph, Executive Director, SPARC

11:45  – 12:05 pm      Discussion

12:05 – 12:15 pm       Short break (panel preparation)

12:15 – 1:15 pm         Panel Two: Open Science and Library Infrastructures

Moderator:  Mr. Ramu Damodaran, Chief of Service, United Nations Academic Impact

1:15 – 1:30 pm            Discussion

1:30 – 2:15 pm            Lunch break

2:15 – 3:15 pm            Panel Three: Open Science Initiatives: Advancing Inclusive Globalization of Research and Scholarly Communications

  • Ms. Mariya Badeva-Bright, Co-founder and Coordinator, African Legal Information Institute (AfricanLII)
  • Mr. Alberto Cabezas, Executive Secretary, LA Referencia
  • Dr. Ana María Cetto, Founder and President, Latindex
  • Mr. Abel Packer, Co-Founder, SciELO; Programme Director, SciELO / FAPESP
  • Dr. Thomas Mboa, Founder of Project SOHA and leader of MboaLab

Moderator:  Dr. Juan Pablo Alperin, Assistant Professor, Publishing Program; Associate Director of Research, Public Knowledge Project, Simon Fraser University

3:15 – 3:35 pm            Discussion

3:35 – 4:00 pm            Afternoon break

4:00 – 5:00 pm            Panel Four: OpenCon Early Career Panel: Openness, Equity, and the Sustainable Development Goals: Developing Systems for Research and Education that Serve the World

  • Dr. Erin McKiernan, Assistant Professor, Biomedical Physics, Department of Physics, National Autonomous University of Mexico
  • Dr. Khadidiatou Sall, founder of Science Education Exchange for Sustainable Development (SeeSD), Senegal
  • Ms. Maryam Qonita, Founder of OA Indonesia; current graduate student at New York University
  • Ms. Stacy Allison-Cassin, Expert on the intersection of libraries, infrastructure, and indigenous communities, York University
  • Ms. Eunice Mercado-Lara, Former Deputy Director for Science and Technology Policy at the National Council for Science and Technology (Mexico) and current MPP candidate, McGill University

Moderator:  Mr. Nick Shockey, Director of Programs & Engagement, SPARC; Director, Right to Research Coalition

5:00 – 5:15 pm          Discussion

5:15 – 5:45 pm          Open discussion on opportunities & the way forward

                                   Moderator: Mr. Thanos Giannakopoulos, Chief Librarian, UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library

                                   Including closing remarks by:

  • Ms. Heather Joseph, Executive Director, SPARC
  • Mr. Thanos Giannakopoulos, Chief Librarian, UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library, and,

Group Photo