Principal reference work of the UN; provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities during the course of a year. All the Yearbooks are available online. They provide citation to the documentation and include the full text of resolutions.
The fifth, revised edition of International Institutional Law covers the most recent developments in the field and offers a comparative analysis of the institutional law of international organizations. It includes comparative chapters on the rules and practices concerning membership, institutional structure, decision-making, financing, legal order, supervision and sanctions, legal status and external relations.
This new edition contains over 1,619 articles covering the full breadth of international law. Articles address the history and theory of international law; all sub-fields such as international criminal law, environmental law, and economic law; leading cases; and significant treaties, organizations, armed conflicts, and geographical issues. Each article contains cross-references to related articles, and includes a selected bibliography.
Oppenheim's International Law / Rosalyn Higgins; Sandesh Sivakumaran; James Sloan; Dapo Akande; Philippa WebbThe United Nations, whose specialized agencies were the subject of an Appendix to the 1958 edition of Oppenheim's International Law: Peace, has expanded beyond all recognition since its founding in 1945.This volume represents a study that is entirely new, but prepared in the way that has become so familiar over succeeding editions of Oppenheim. An authoritative and comprehensive study of the United Nations' legal practice, this volume covers the formal structures of the UN as it has expanded over the years, and all that this complex organization does. All substantive issues are addressed in separate sections, including among others, the responsibilities of the UN, financing, immunities, human rights, preventing armed conflicts and peacekeeping, and judicial matters. In examining the evolving structures and ever expanding work of the United Nations, this volume follows the long-held tradition of Oppenheim by presenting facts uncoloured by personal opinion, in a succinct text that also offers in the footnotes a wealth of information and ideas to be explored. It is book that, while making all necessary reference to the Charter, the Statute of the International Court of Justice, and other legal instruments, tells of the realities of the legal issues as they arise in the day to day practice of the United Nations. Missions to the UN, Ministries of Foreign Affairs, practitioners of international law, academics, and students will all find this book to be vital in their understanding of the workings of the legal practice of the UN. Research for this publication was made possible by The Balzan Prize, which was awarded to Rosalyn Higgins in 2007 by the International Balzan Foundation.
Procedure at International Conferences / Robbie SabelThis new edition is a comprehensive manual of the rules of procedure for the conduct of business at the UN General Assembly, at international conferences and at assemblies of inter-governmental organisations such as the IAEA, ICAO, ILO, IMO and WHO. It examines the legal basis of these rules, the history of their development and the attempts at their codification. At the heart of the book is an examination of the practical applications of rules of procedure. Sabel also considers whether certain procedural rules and applications have become so well established that they have now attained the status of customary international law. The book is of interest to those involved in international law, international relations and international organisations. It also serves as a practical manual for delegates to the UN General Assembly and to international conferences.