AGROVOC is a controlled vocabulary covering all areas of interest to the Food and Agricultural Organization of the UN (FAO), including food, nutrition, agriculture, fisheries, forestry, environment etc.
The Analytical Guide to the Work of the International Law Commission (ILC) is designed to assist the researcher interested in the work of the Commission. It is organized by topics, subdivided into categories and stages of consideration within the Commission; thus tracking the development of each topic on its programme of work from inception to conclusion.
Asia-Pacific Trade and Investment Agreement Database (APTIAD) is an online database of trade agreements in the Asia-Pacific region contains information on all preferential agreements within the region, an agreement-country matrix, and an advanced search engine allowing to locate agreements by country, agreement name, status, scope, WTO notification status, and keywords.
The research library contains links to other web-based resources providing international law-related materials. The library is divided into four components: resources relating to treaties; materials concerning the jurisprudence of international courts and tribunals; access to selected UN publications and repositories; and selected scholarly writings in international law.
The information centre of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) provides access to documentation such as reports, press releases, and meeting documents related to CTBTO activities.
Collection of the UN Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), Statistical Division databases, including commodity trade statistics, census knowledge, disability statistics, good practices, joint oil data, millennium data indicators, population, and social indicators.
Website listing various resources on training in the field of disarmament; among them a video library, podcasts, presentations, and resources for teachers and students. Maintained by UNODA (Office for Disarmament Affairs).
ECOLEX is an information service on environmental law, operated jointly by FAO, IUCN and UNEP. The database includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.
Comprehensive and accurate legal information on the steps taken by the international community and individual countries in the fight against international terrorism. The site is maintained by the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC).
Enterprise Surveys, an International Finance Corporation (IFC)/World Bank database, offers an expansive array of economic data on 130,000 firms in 135 countries. The surveys cover a broad range of business environment topics including access to finance, corruption, infrastructure, crime, competition, and performance measures.
The authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. More than 500 different variables, such as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets. Display them on-the-fly as maps, graphs, data tables or download the data in different formats.
The Employment Protection Legislation database (EPLex) of the International Labour Organization provides information on key topics that are regularly examined in national and comparative studies on employment termination legislation.
Statistical database of ESCAP (Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific). Includes population, health, education, labor, infrastructure, finance, trade, environment, gender, and other statistics.
The ESCAP Trade, Investment and Innovation Division and the World Bank joined hands to develop a common standard methodology for calculating comprehensive international trade costs and provide the research and policy community with a global reference. The current version includes data from 1995 to 2015 for over 180 countries.
The Food Aid Information System (FAIS) database of the World Food Programme (WFP) contains reliable and comprehensive data on food aid flows. It is a source of information for food aid actors, academics, the media, and anyone interested in global efforts to eradicate hunger and malnutrition.
Links to various statistical databases of the Food and Agriculture Organization, including Agro-MAPS, AQUASTAT, CountrySTAT, FAOSTAT, Fishery and Aquaculture Statistics, Forestry Country Profiles, GLIPHA, PAAT Information Systems, and TERRASTAT.
Food and Agriculture Organization Legal Office database consisting of summaries and some translations of laws and regulations on topics falling within FAO's mandate - agriculture, cultivated plants, environment, fisheries, food, forestry, land and soil, livestock, water and wild species and ecosystems.
The FTS is a global, real-time database that records all reported international humanitarian aid (including that for NGOs and the Red Cross / Red Crescent Movement, bilateral aid, in-kind aid, and private donations). The database is maintained by the UN Office for Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA).
The GDACS provides near real-time alerts about natural disasters and tools to facilitate response coordination, including media monitoring, map catalogues and the Virtual On-Site Operations Coordination Centre. The service is provided by UN OCHA (Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs) in cooperation with the European Union.
The Global Environment Outlook (GEO) is a consultative, participatory process that builds capacity for conducting integrated environmental assessments for reporting on the state, trends and outlooks of the environment. It features a series of products that informs environmental decision-making and aims to facilitate the interaction between science and policy. Published by UNEP (UN Environment Programme).
The Global Economic Outlook Database (GEO Data) is a product of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA). It indexes various economic data criteria, including imports, exports, and growth rates, for regions of the world.
The International Maritime Organization's collection of data and databases regarding various aspects of shipping information, including security, port reception, simulators, greenhouse gas emissions, pollution prevention, marine casualties and incidents, contact points, and local regulations. Registration required.
The International Criminal Court Legal Tools database equips users with legal information, digests, reference tools and an application to work more effectively with core international crimes cases (involving war crimes, crimes against humanity or genocide);
The International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes' (ICSID) searchable bibliography listing articles, books, research, and working papers on ICSID, investment law and treaties, and international investment dispute resolution.
Collection of statistics and databases compiled by the International Labour Organization: core labour statistics, country-level data, child labour statistics, occupational health and safety, conventions and recommendations documents, reference literature, and labour legislation.
InforMEA (UN Information Portal on Multilateral Environmental Agreements) provides information on Conference of the Parties (COP) decisions and resolutions, news, events, Multilateral Environmental Agreements (MEA) membership, national focal points, national reports, and implementation plans from MEA secretariats.
The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) multilingual thesaurus serves as a tool for indexing and describing nuclear information and knowledge in a structured form and assists in multilingual and semantic searches of the INIS Collection.
One of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. Offers access to a unique collection of non-conventional full text documents. Operated by the International Atomic Energy Agency.
Repository of WHO’s published material and technical information produced since 1948. Its content is freely accessible and searchable in the six official languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian & Spanish).
The Central Data Repository of the International Seabed Authority (ISA) holds centralized data of public and private information on marine mineral resources acquired from various institutions worldwide. Includes graphical interface with map of the seabed of the world's oceans.
Market Analysis Tools consists of a set of web portals intended to enhance the transparency in global trade and market access and to help users in their market analyses. Tools: Trade Map; Market Access Map; Investment Map; Trade Competitiveness Map; and Standards Map.
UN staff with a un.org email account can register for a personal account.
JRAD provides access to all MICT (Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals) public judicial records, as well as to the public archive records of the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR.).
Provides access to compare and collate language on key issues across 75,000+ provisions of around 1,000 peace agreements. Users can browse, search, compile and export the provisions of peace agreements. Language of Peace complements and builds on the UN Peacemaker database, which hosts full text documents of such agreements.
The online Maritime Knowledge Centre of the IMO (International Maritime Organization) provides access to resources on maritime safety, security and prevention of pollution from ships as well as other maritime related issues.
The MICT (Mechanism for International Tribunals) Case Law Database (CLD) provides access to extracts of key judgements and decisions of the ICTR, ICTY, and MICT Appeals Chambers. The full text of the corresponding appeal judgements and decisions are also available.
United Nations official document system: provides full text search of documents issued since 1993; resolutions of all principal organs & Security Council plenary documents since 1946. Older documents are added regularly. Includes the Daily Journals of New York and Geneva.
PreventionWeb serves the information needs of the disaster risk reduction community, including the development of information exchange tools to facilitate collaboration. It is a project of the UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR).
The PGI is hosted by the Inter-Agency Group on Economic and Financial Statistics and presents data for the Group of 20 (G-20) to facilitate the monitoring of economic and financial developments for these systemically important economies.
The Refworld database of UNHCR (UN High Commissioner for Refugees) provides information for making decisions on refugee status. Refworld's collection is derived from a diverse network of international organizations that relate to countries of origin, policy documents and positions, and documents relating to international and national legal frameworks.
The Repertory contains analytical studies of the decisions of the principal organs of the UN under each of the Articles of the UN Charter. It consists of a comprehensive summary of the decisions of UN Organs, together with review of related material, organized by Charter Articles, and presented in such a way as to throw light on questions of application and interpretation of the Charter which have arisen in practice.
The Reports of International Arbitral Awards provide a systematic collection of International arbitral and judicial awards which are of considerable importance as a "subsidiary means for the determination of the rules of law".
SHERLOC (Sharing Electronic Resources and Laws On Crime) was developed by the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) to facilitate the dissemination of information regarding the implementation of the UN Convention against Transnational Organized Crime and its three Protocols. The portal consists of a case law database, a database of legislation, a bibliographic database, and a directory of competent national authorities.
The list of countries or areas contains the names of countries or areas in alphabetical order, their three-digit numerical codes used for statistical processing purposes by the Statistics Division of the UN Secretariat, and their three-digit alphabetical codes assigned by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The designations employed and the presentation of material at this site do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Secretariat of the United Nations concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.
The UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR) develops these basic definitions on Disaster Risk Reduction (DRR) to promote a common understanding on the subject for use by the public, authorities and practitioners.
Case law database of the International Labour Organization Administrative Tribunal, which hears complaints from serving and former officials of the ILO and of the other international organizations that have recognized its jurisdiction.
The UN-Spider Knowledge Portal is a resource developed by UNOOSA (UN Office for Outer Space Affairs). It is the United Nations Platform for Space-Based Information for Disaster Management and Emergency Response.
UN-Women maintains this database that compiles all the different provisions related to gender contained in constitutions in countries around the world. Searchable by keywords, provisions, regions or countries.
The UN Audiovisual Library provides audio recordings of meetings and events held at the UN Headquarters. There are also historic recordings of UN Radio programmes, a Secretaries-General's collection, and interviews. The recordings are available for download via the library's website (link), or via FTP upon demand.
The multilingual UNBIS Thesaurus contains the terminology used in subject analysis of documents and other materials relevant to United Nations programmes and activities. Available in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish.
The UNCCD (UN Convention to Combat Desertification) library holds a specialized collection in the fields of desertification, land degradation and drought, and its cross-cutting subjects such as development, economics, environment, land, soils, agriculture, energy, water, climate change, biodiversity, science and technology
Access to all the official UNCCD (UN Convention to Combat Desertification) documents of all the sessions of the Conference of the Parties (COP) and one of its subsidiary bodies, the Committee for the Review of the Implementation of the Convention (CRIC).
A Media Room gives access to news, speeches, and audiovisual content. Also access to publications, practitioners guides and training tools, evaluations and assessments, and project and corporate documents from the UN Credit Development FUND (UNCDF).
Collection of statistical databases offered by UNCTAD (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development), including commodity price statistics, foreign direct investment, information and communication technology statistics, and trade control measures.
A comprehensive compilation of international legal instruments, standards, recommended practices and other guidance material, intended to serve as a single point of reference on the various legal and practical matters relating to counter-terrorism aspects of border management. The database is maintained by UNCTED (UN Counter-Terrorism Executive Directorate).
UNdata brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system from a wide range of departments and subject matter.
Judgments and orders of the United Nations Dispute Tribunal of the Office of the Administration of Justice. Searchable database as well as list of judgments organized chronologically and list of orders organized by duty station.
The UNEP Knowledge Repository is the official platform for its research content and knowledge products, offering open access to UNEP’s (UN Environment Programme) publications, technical and assessment reports, guidelines, newsletters, journal articles and other types of information material.
The Institute for Statistics Data Centre of UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication. Custom tables may be generated, and predefined tables are also available.
The UNESCO Thesaurus is a controlled and structured list of terms used in subject analysis and retrieval of documents and publications in the fields of education, culture, natural sciences, social and human sciences, communication and information.
Since 2003, the United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) and the Population Reference Bureau have collaborated in publishing Country Profiles for Population and Reproductive Health. Each country profile is followed by more than 100 indicators on health and development, including internal disparities and public financing for health and education.
Database provided by the UN Group of Experts on Geographical Names (UNGEGN) in cooperation with the UN Statistics Division. It is a multilingual, multiscriptual geo-referenced geographical names database containing authoritative information on country and place names worldwide.
This UNHCR database provides data and trends on the "Population of concern to UNHCR" - Refugees, asylum-seekers, returned refugees, internally displaced persons (IDPs) protected/assisted by UNHCR, returned IDPs, stateless persons, and others of concern to UNHCR, in more than 150 countries.
Economic and social statistics provided by the UNICEF (United Nations Children’s Fund) on the countries and territories of the world, with particular reference to children’s well-being. The statistics are published annually in the organization’s flagship publication. It includes tables combining statistics for all countries.
The Bibliography on Environmental Crimes includes material that has been collected for the preparation of specific projects developed by UNICRI's Emerging Crimes team and the documentation collected by the UNICRI Library over the years.
The Bibliography on Organized Crime and Corruption lists monographs and articles from journals received by the library of the UNICRI (United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute) since 2000.
The Bibliography on Trafficking in Persons (TIP) includes material collected for the preparation of specific projects developed by UNICRI's Counter-Trafficking Team and all the related documents received by the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI) Library since the year 2000.
The UNICRI (United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute) Thesaurus lists the keywords used by UNICRI Documentation Service to index its Library Collection documents and by users to retrieve catalogue information. It covers all subjects related to crime prevention and criminal justice in the widest sense.
This Directory covers almost 500 institutes in some 90 countries, including academic institutions, governmental institutes, NGOs, private institutes, and international organizations. The information that is provided on the institutes includes contact details, web page links, names of directors and staff, activities and projects, sources of funding, and periodicals issued.
The United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) maintains this statistical database for major indicators of industrial performance. The briefs are organized by country to meet the needs of a wide range of data users.
Access to publications, journals, reports, and other series covering a wide range of topics: international peace and security, human rights, economic and social development, climate change, international law, governance, public health, and statistics from the UN Secretariat and its funds and programmes.
The United Nations Information System on the Question of Palestine's (UNISPAL) collection contains the texts of current and historical United Nations material concerning the question of Palestine and other issues related to the Middle East situation and the search for peace. Documents are mostly in English.
The UN Audiovisual Library provides access to and preserves the audiovisual archives from over 70 years of the history of the Organization. Holdings comprise a hybrid collection with both analog and digital records.
The United Nations Digital Library (UNDL) includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications. The platform provides access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. System features include linked data between related documentation such as resolutions, meeting records and voting, and refining of searches by UN body, agency or type of document.
Since 1962, the Secretary-General has published, on an annual basis, a Juridical Yearbook which includes documentary materials of a legal character concerning the United Nations and related intergovernmental organizations. Coverage: 1963-2011.
Full-text searchable database for publications of the Office of Legal Affairs Codification Division, including International Law Commission documents and yearbooks, proceedings of diplomatic conferences, summaries of International Court of Justice judgments, reports of international arbitration awards, the Repertory of Practice of UN organs, and the Juridical Yearbook.
Available online from October 1995. Press Releases are not official documents but provide timely information on the current activities of the principal organs and subsidiary bodies, including summaries of meetings.
UNODA (UN Office for Disarmament Affairs) publishes information on the status of multilateral Arms Regulation and Disarmament Agreements, presenting data on signatories, parties of relevant agreements and the texts of the agreements.
UNODA's (UN Office for Disarmament Affairs) specialized archive provides quick and direct access to United Nations disarmament-related documents in one convenient location. It includes special sessions final documents and reports; Disarmament Commission guidelines and treaty review declarations.
The UNODC Counter-Terrorism Learning Platform is an interactive tool designed to assist criminal justice officers with their needs in the field of international cooperation against terrorism. Registration required.
Access to various resources from the UN Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC). The site inks to the World Drug Report and the Global Report on Trafficking in Persons as well as statistics, surveys, studies and journals relating to UNODCs working fields.
Access to key tools and recommended sources on smuggling of migrants from UNODC (UN Ofiice on Drugs and Crime). Resources include a Human Trafficking Case Law Database, a Victim Translation Assistance Tool, and a toolkit to Combat Smuggling of Migrants.
United Nations Office for Outer Space Affairs (UNOOSA) collection of information regarding space launchings by Member States. Includes name of launching State, designator of the space object or its registration number, date and territory or location of launch, basic orbital parameters, and general function of the space object.
UNOSAT, the UNITAR Operational Satellite Applications Programme, prepares maps, analytical reports and datasets in support of international humanitarian assistance operations to respond to crises caused by natural disasters, conflict and other complex emergencies.
This resource provided by the Department of Political and Peacebuilding Affairs (DPPA) is intended for peacemaking professionals. It includes an extensive database of peace agreements, guidance material, and information on the UN’s mediation support services.
The United Nations Photo Library holds a collection of approximately 800,000 photographs dating back to the mid-1940s, chronicling the history of the Organization and its work. The collection includes coverage of historic UN meetings and events, as well as a wide array of field coverage from its earliest days.
The UN Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA) Register of Conventional Arms includes data provided by states on arms transfers as well as information on military holdings, procurement through national production and relevant policies.
The Monthly Statement of Treaties and International Agreements database contains detailed record of treaties and related subsequent treaty actions which were registered or filed and recorded with the Secretariat in a given month.
This database provides information on the status of over 500 major multilateral instruments deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations (including the texts of reservations, declarations and objections) and covers a range of subject matter such as Human Rights, Disarmament, Commodities, Refugees, the Environment and the Law of the Sea.
The UN Treaty Collection (UNTC) maintains a collection of treaties and international agreements registered or filed and recorded with and published by the Secretariat since 1946. It includes the texts of treaties in their authentic language(s), along with some translations into English and French.
The Universal Postal Union's (UPU) statistical database provides a dynamic overview of postal development in each member country. It includes approximately 100 indicators of postal development, grouped in 12 chapters.
Urban law is a collection of policies, laws, decisions and practices that govern the management and development of the urban environment. It aims to improve access to the legislation that regulates the urban environment.
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is the World Health Organization's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database.
In a single electronic platform, the World Health Organization's (WHO) Communicable Disease Global Atlas is bringing together for analysis and comparison standardized data and statistics for infectious diseases at country, regional, and global levels.
The WHO Global InfoBase is a data warehouse that collects, stores and displays information on chronic diseases and their risk factors for all WHO (World Health Organization) member states. Includes mortality, non-communicable disease (NCD) risk factor, and international comparisons data.
WIPO GOLD is a free public resource which provided by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) offering a one-stop gateway to WIPO’s global collections of searchable IP data. Includes links to resources for patents, brands, domain name, designs, statistics, law and treaties, classifications, and standards.
Catalogue of the library of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO). The library's collection covers all aspects of intellectual property with its holdings of some 35,000 monographs and over 300 periodicals.
The catalogue of the library of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) contains books, conference reports and other expert reports, working papers, annual and statistical reports and periodicals on meteorology.
The Global Economic Monitor (GEM) is a World Bank online subscription service, updated daily, providing analysis of current economic trends, economic and financial data indicators, and an extensive database.
WIPO Lex is a search facility for national laws and treaties on intellectual property (IP) of WIPO, WTO and UN Members. It also features related information which elaborates, analyzes and interprets these laws and treaties. It provides streamlined access to reference material of key importance for optimal information on the global IP System.
The Yearbook of the United Nations is the principal reference work of the UN and provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities during the course of a year. All the Yearbooks, 1945 to the most recent, are available online and provide citation to the documentation and include the full text of resolutions.